An Echo of the Fae: Dive in Review.

Hey It’s been a couple weeks since I shared a cover reveal for the newest Fantasy release from Jenelle Schmidt. Now it’s released and ready to be reviewed.

Dive in Review: An Echo of the Fae

An Echo of the Fae, is a sweet book about the true meaning of family.

Echo has lived her whole life being teased for her elfin appearance. The kids at school call her an echo of the Fae and say that she is a changeling.

One night Echo learns a terrible secret about her parents and where she came from.

The first few chapters to this book where a little slow as I pretty much guessed from page one what the terrible secret was. And it is pretty much impossible to review this without telling you the secret too. So will try to be vague and if you guess, you guess.

Echo is a very brave and loving young girl. The story picks up about of a quarter of the way in once Echo learns the truth, and accepts it. Her sacrifice in volunteering to enter the Fae realms and find her missing sister touched me. But not as much as her parents assurance that Echo was their true daughter. The love they shared was unconditional and a great example of everything parents should be.

The Journey through Faerie was exciting and everything you expect, magical, whimsical and a little trippy. The best part was watching this young girl out logic beings who stacked the decks so high in their own favor. But then that’s what we all love about fairy stories anyway.

I also really appreciated that this was an original story and not a retelling of a specific fairy-tale. It has a lot of existing lore and fairy tropes but the plot is inventive and unpredictable.

I was given a copy of this ebook by a person unknown. They cautioned me to protect it, and to not leak that which it contained. I however, decided of my own accord to read the manuscript, and am now divulging here my honest opinion of it’s contents.

Author Bio:

Jenelle first fell in love with stories through her father’s voice reading books aloud each night. A relentless opener-of-doors in hopes of someday finding a passage to Narnia, it was only natural that she soon began making up fantastical realms of her own. Jenelle currently resides in the wintry tundra of Wisconsin—which she maintains is almost as good as Narnia—with her knight-in-shining armor and their four adorable hobbits. When she is not writing, she homeschools said hobbits and helps them along on their daily adventures… which she says makes her a wizard.

Follow Jenelle around the interwebs to get news about latest releases and her writing adventures:

WEBSITE

FACEBOOK

TWITTER

INSTAGRAM

GOODREADS

NEWSLETTER SIGN-UP

AMAZON AUTHOR CENTRAL

From the back cover:

Echo enjoys the peace and solitude of the Faeorn forest, regardless of how strange spending time in the “haunted” wood seems to others.

But on the cusp of her thirteenth birthday, the discovery of a family secret reveals why Echo has never been drawn to the sea like her mother. This discovery shakes the foundations of her world and sends Echo on a quest, not merely into the forest, but into the heart of the fae-lands themselves, to rescue the sister she didn’t know existed.

Elves, dragons, and fairy courts will put Echo’s wit and resolve to the test. But with time running out for her sister, will Echo even be able to save herself?

A fairytale adventure perfect for fans of The Secret of Roan Innish and The Girl Who Drank the Moon.

GOODREADS – https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/53480681-an-echo-of-the-fae

AMAZON – https://www.amazon.com/Echo-Fae-Jenelle-Leanne-Schmidt/dp/0988451239/

Endorsements:

“Enthralled by the terror, charm, riddles, and beauty of a richly depicted fae world, I devoured this marvelous book in two sittings! Readers of all ages will love Echo, a heroine strong in her weakness, clever and resolute amid her doubt and fear. An Echo of the Fae is sure to satisfy lovers of adventure and faery!” — J.M. Stengl, author of The Faraway Castle Series

Check out the other tour stops:

June 21

When the Story Chooses the Author @James Quinlan Meservy

Character Interview with Echo and Jana @Live.Love.Read

June 22

Author interview @Dreams and Dragons

Myths and Folklore that Inspired An Echo of the Fae @Author E.E. Rawls

June 23

How I’ve Been Influenced by Fairy Tales @DJ Edwardson

Review and Author Interview @Smudged Thoughts

June 24

Author Interview @An Independent Will

Book Spotlight @Kyle Robert Shultz

Book Review @Live.Love.Read

Building the Fae Realm @JL Mbewe

June 25

A Peek Into My Writing Process @Lands Uncharted

Book Review/Spotlight @CO Bonham -You are here

June 26

Friday 5s @Light and Shadows

Book Spotlight @Caroline Puerto

June 27

Character Interview with Jana @AMReynwood

Book Spotlight @NJWalker

Author Interview @Adventure Awaits

June 28

The Building of Ennis Rosliath @Live.Love.Read

Does the Author Matter? @An Independent Will

June 29

Book Review @ThePageDreamer

Interview with Jana @Dreams and Dragons

Book Review @Christine Smith Author

June 30

Character Interview with the Winter King @Beka Gremikova

Author Interview @Live.Love.Read.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenelle
    Jun 25, 2020 @ 14:13:46

    Thank you so much for your lovely review and for giving me space on your blog for the tour! Truly appreciate it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply to Jenelle Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: